click here for Cruiser racing results


MSC Cruiser Regatta 2017

The 2017 Regatta was held over three days in July with visiting boats from Kilybegs and Sligo. Conditions were challenging with wind speeds consistently exceeding 20knots which resulted in exciting sailing. Honours were shard between local and visiting boats. The overall winner on IRC was Martin Reilly's Crazy Horse. Under the ECHO handicap system the overall inner was Indigo Kiss - the a new addition to the MSC fleet helmed by Bronagh Carvill. The White Sails category winner was Sligo'  Ella Rose helmed by David Rowe after a competitive battle with Martin Christie and his all girl crew on Tethra.

The MSC Regatta trophies were awarded as follows:

Pier Head Trophy : Wardance (Sean Hawkshaw)

SF Trophy : Indigo Kiss (Bronagh Carvill)

Commodore's Cup : Antix Beag (Seamus Farrell)

Overall IRC : Crazy Horse (Martin Reilly)

Overall ECHO : Indigo Kiss (Bronagh Carvill)

Overall White Sails : Ella Rose (David Rowe)

Many thanks to Matt, Eamonn, Jackie and Mark for managing the series and carrying out all the official functions in sometimes challenging weather conditions.


The Dr Nolan Cup is awarded for an extra long cruiser race traditionally held in August. For 2017 the 14 mile course brought the fleet across the bay to the Bullockmore buoy and back to home waters. Conditions were perfect for racing with sunshine and a steady breeze. Winner for the third consecutive year was Lazybones with Michael Carvill and his crew.

Action from Dr Nolan Cup 2017 start

Dr N3[18496].jpg

Junior sailing regatta 2017

A big thank you to everyone who participated in the Mullaghmore sailing club junior regatta 2017. Thank you to all our sponsors : Pier Head, Paddy's Place and Snap Printing.

Congratulations to the 2017 winners - Caoimhe Hunt who took home the Moynihan Cup and Jack Caldwell who won the Cygnet Cup. Well done to everyone who took part and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Please click here to see photo's from the junior sailing course and regatta.